International Association
of School Librarianship

IASL Awards

Takeshi Murofushi Research Award

To donate to this award's fund, please visit the donations page.

The recipient of this grant is awarded US $500 towards funding of a research project. The award was initiated in 1997 through the generosity of Professor Takeshi Murofushi and colleagues.

Guidelines for Application

Deadline for receipt of applications: 1 April 2024

There is no prescribed application form. Applicants should respond to the selection criteria below and include a personal resumé  as well as full contact information (mailing address, telephone number/s, fax number, and email address) for each researcher.

Selection is based on the following criteria:

  • a clear description of the research project;
  • the significance of the research questions;
  • methodological soundness, particularly where data is collected across more than one country;
  • proposed timeline; and
  • budget.

In addition,

  • Topics should be of international interest.
  • Preference will be given to proposals involving researchers from more than one country.
  • Preference will be given to members of IASL.
  • Recipients are expected to present the results of the study at a subsequent IASL conference.

Applications should read the above criteria carefully and respond to the criteria in their application. Applications should include a personal resumé for each researcher, demonstrating ability to undertake and successfully complete the research. Applications may be in print or electronic format.

Selection for the award is made by an international panel of researchers and scholars.

Applications should be sent to:

Chairperson of the Awards Committee
International Association of School Librarianship
P.O. Box 684
Jefferson City, MO  65102
Fax: 1-573-635-2858

Past Award Recipients

  • 2023: Dr. Rashmi Rekha Gohain, G.J. Advani Law College (University of Mumbai) & Dr Akhilesh K. S. Yadav, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai
  • 2022: Dr Rashmi Kumbar; Dr. Pradeepa Wijetunge; Mr. Sagender Singh Parmar; Dr Ruwan Gamage; Mr. Uditha Alahakoon
  • 2021:  No award
  • 2020: Dr. Lucilia Green & Dr. Jenna Spiering, University of South Carolina
  • 2016 Zakir Hossain: originally from Bangladesh, currently working in Vietnam
  • 2015 Jennifer Wood, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA
  • 2014 No Award
  • 2013 Kasey Garrison, Sue Kimmel, and Danielle Forest, Charles Sturt University, Wagga Wagga, Austrailia and Old Dominion University, Norfolk, Virginia, USA
  • 2012 Lyn Hay, Charles Sturt University, ACT, Australia
  • 2011 Dr. Melissa P. Johnston, USA
  • 2010 Paulette Stewart, Jamaica: IASL Conferences: An evaluation of the attendance pattern of participants 1998 - 2010
  • 2009 No award
  • 2008 Dr Marcia Mardis (USA): An Analysis of IASL Conference Proceedings 1997-2008.
  • 2007 No award
  • 2006 Dr Lesley SJ Farmer (USA): Examination of Expert Library Media Teachers to Optimize Pre-Service Instruction and Learning
  • 2005 Dr Nancy Everhart (USA): School Librarians' Use of Time: An International Perspective
  • 2004 Dr Inci Önal (Turkey): School Libraries of One World: The Influence of Standards
  • 2003 Dr. Diljit Singh (Malaysia): The education and training programs of teacher-librarians in IASL member countries and others where such information can be obtained. It will result in development of an international directory of institutions that offer education and training programs in school librarianship.
  • 2002 Dr Marlene Asselin (Canada): A study that examines how new teachers are being equipped with the skills to collaborate with teacher-librarians in teaching information literacy.
  • 2000 No award
  • 1999 No award
  • 1998 Dr Joy McGregor (USA): Research on the implementation of flexible scheduling in elementary schools
  • 1997 Dr Iveta Gudakovska (Latvia): Students' and Teachers' Needs for Information and the Role of School Libraries in Providing Them With It

View our privacy policy here.

© International Association of School Librarianship
Data Protection Policy 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software