International Association
of School Librarianship

IASL Awards

Jean Lowrie Leadership Development Grant

To donate to this award's fund, please visit the donations page.

Leaders in developing nations are invited to apply for reimbursement of US $2,000 to attend their first IASL annual conference. This award will be presented in even years beginning in 2020.

These grants assist leaders

  • to share their needs and aspirations;
  • to learn from other conference participants;
  • to develop contacts to further their work; and
  • to identify strategies that can be used in their home country.
Leaders within Zone C are encouraged to apply. (See the membership information page for the countries allocated to Zone C).

The award was named in 1995 in honor of Dr. Jean E. Lowrie, the first president and first executive secretary of the International Association of School Librarianship and is funded through the generosity of IASL members and friends.

Guidelines for Applicants

Deadline to apply: 1 April 2024

Applications should be sent to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee of IASL at:

International Association of School Librarianship
P.O. Box 684
Jefferson City, MO  65102
Fax: 1-573-635-2858

Applications must include a statement of:

  • need and purpose;
  • potential outcomes for their country; and
  • two letters of support from senior administrators, including assurance that the applicant's involvement in school library program development will continue.

Please note:

The award of US $2000 is presented at the annual IASL Conference. Recipients must be able to attend the conference to receive the award and funds. The recipient must be able to cover any additional expenses over and above the US $2000.

Leadership development grant recipients are required to provide a report on their conference experience to the IASL Secretariat within six months of conference closing, in response to the potential outcomes identified in their application.
  • All documentation must be received by April 1 each year to be considered for this leadership development grant.
  • Preference will be given to members of the International Association of School Librarianship.
  • Applications will be reviewed by an international panel of researchers and scholars.
  • Applications may be submitted in print or electronic format.

Application Form

The application form below may be printed or copied, completed on paper, and sent to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee of IASL with supporting documentation:

==================== copy here =====================

Jean Lowrie Leadership Development Grant Application Form

Name: ________________________________________________________________

Position: ______________________________________________________________

School/Institution: ______________________________________________________

Postal Address: _________________________________________________________


Country: _______________________________________________________________

Email Address: __________________________________________________________

Phone: ________________________________________________________________

Fax: __________________________________________________________

Please answer the following. Use additional space as necessary:

1) Why do you wish to attend the IASL conference?




2) What do you aim to achieve as a result of attending the conference?




3)Who, in your school or education administration authority, supports your application?



4) Are you a member of IASL? [  ] Yes  [  ] No

Please attach two letters of support from the persons listed in question 3 guaranteeing your continued involvement in the development of the school library program.

==================== end copy here =====================

Past Grant Recipients

  • 2022 Poonam Gola, India
  • 2020 Ifunanya Evangel Obim, Nigeria
  • 2019 Kolawole Akinjide Aramide, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • 2018 Dr. Sarwesh Pareek from Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Vidyashram Pratapnagar, Jaipur
  • 2017 Sharada Siwakoti, Nepalese Association of School Librarians
  • 2016 Yasindri Vishnika Premadasa, Sri Lanka
  • 2015 Neeta Bali, Kasiga School, India
  • 2014 Chhavi Jain, G. D. Goenka World School, Gurgaon, Haryana, India
  • 2013 Cosmas Mabeya, Equal Education South Africa, Capetown, South Africa
  • 2012 Daniel N. Mangale, Abcproject Kenya, Ukunda, Kenya
  • 2011 The University of West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica -- Nguyen Tan Thanh Truc (Vietnam)
  • 2010 Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia -- Rachmawati (Indonesia)
  • 2009 No Award
  • 2008 University of Berkeley, California: Eunice McKenzie (Jamaica)
  • 2007 Taipei, Taiwan: Naaz Kirmani (India)
  • 2006 Lisbon, Portugal: George Onyango Jakoyo (Kenya) (unable to attend)
  • 2005 Hong Kong, China: Jabu Gladys Hlophe (Swaziland)
  • 2004 Dublin, Ireland: Claudio Laferla (Malta)
  • 2003 Durban, South Africa: Antony Chiwaka (Zimbabwe)
  • 2002 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia: Alet Marais (Namibia)
  • 2001 Auckland, New Zealand: Solomon Zewdie (Ethiopia)
  • 2000 Malmö, Sweden: Thomas Adigun (Swaziland)
  • 1999 Birmingham, Alabama, USA: Wilailuck Singtaipob (Thailand)
  • 1998 Ramat Gan, Israel: A.A. Alemna, University of Ghana, Legon, (Ghana) [unable to attend]; Suzie Gamba, National Primary Education Commission, Kaduna (Nigeria)
  • 1997 Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada: Dr Iveta Gudakovska (Latvia) and A. Geetha S. Yapa (SriLanka)
  • 1996 Ocho Rios, Jamaica: Daisy Lake (Antigua and Barbuda)
  • 1995 Worcester, England: Dr Andree-Jeanne Tötemeyer (Namibia)
  • 1994 Pittsburgh, USA: Muhudien Mohammed (Ethiopia - unable to attend)
  • 1993 Adelaide, Australia: Humesh Prasad (Fiji)
  • 1992 Belfast, Northern Ireland: Mary Jamil Fasheh (Jordan/Palestine)
  • 1991 Everett, USA: Ahmed Kamrul Hasan (Bangladesh)
  • 1990 Umeå, Sweden: Felix Tawete (Swaziland - unable to attend)
  • 1989 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: Indir Vir Malhan (India)
  • 1988 Kalamazoo, USA: Daniel Paraida (Papua New Guinea)

View our privacy policy here.

© International Association of School Librarianship
Data Protection Policy 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software