International Association
of School Librarianship

IASL Awards

Ken Haycock Leadership Development Grant

To donate to this award's fund, please visit the donations page.

Leaders in all countries are invited to apply for reimbursement of US $2,000 to attend their first IASL annual conference. This award will be presented in odd years beginning in 2021 (no award will be given in 2022).

These grants assist leaders

  • to share their needs and aspirations;
  • to learn from other conference participants;
  • to develop contacts to further their work; and
  • to identify strategies that can be used in their home country.
Leaders in all geographic zones (Zone A, Zone B, and Zone C) are encouraged to apply. (See the membership information page for the countries allocated to geographic zones).

The award was named in 2000 in honor of Dr. Ken Haycock, executive director of the IASL from 1995-2000, and is funded through the generosity of IASL members and friends.

Guidelines for Applicants

The deadline for 2025 is 1 April 2025.

Applications should be sent to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee of IASL at:
International Association of School Librarianship
P.O. Box 684
Jefferson City, MO  65102
Fax: 1-573-635-2858

Applications must include a statement of:

  • need and purpose;
  • potential outcomes for their country; and
  • two letters of support from senior administrators, including assurance that the applicant's involvement in school library program development will continue.

Please note:

The award of US$ 2000 is presented at the annual IASL Conference. Recipients must be able to attend the conference to receive the award and funds. The recipient must be able to cover any additional expenses over and above the US$ 2000.

Leadership development grant recipients are required to provide a report on their conference experience to the IASL Secretariat within six months of conference closing, in response to the potential outcomes identified in their application.
  • All documentation must be received by April 1 each year to be considered for this leadership development grant.
  • Preference will be given to members of the International Association of School Librarianship.
  • Applications will be reviewed by an international panel of researchers and scholars.
  • Applications may be submitted in print or electronic format.

Application Form

The application form below may be printed or copied, completed on paper, and sent to the Chairperson of the Awards Committee of IASL with supporting documentation:

==================== copy here =====================

Ken Haycock Leadership Development Grant Application Form

Name: ________________________________________________________________

Position: ______________________________________________________________

School/Institution: ______________________________________________________

Postal Address: _________________________________________________________


Country: _______________________________________________________________

Email Address: __________________________________________________________

Phone: ________________________________________________________________

Fax: __________________________________________________________

Please answer the following. Use additional space as necessary:

1) Why do you wish to attend the IASL conference?




2) What do you aim to achieve as a result of attending the conference?




3)Who, in your school or education administration authority, supports your application?



4) Are you a member of IASL? [  ] Yes  [  ] No

Please attach two letters of support from the persons listed in question 3 guaranteeing your continued involvement in the development of the school library program.

Past Grant Recipients

  • 2023 Ramandeep, Delhi World Public School, Ludhiana. Punjab, India
  • 2019 Victoria Calarco, Owasco Elementary School, Auburn Enlarged City School District, United States
  • 2016 Kate Shaw, Congo D.R.
  • 2015 Hosea Tokwe, Midlands State University, Gweru, Midlands, Zimbabwe
  • 2014 Inez Kinanthi, School Librarian, SMPN 8 Tangerang Selatan, Indonesia
  • 2013 Melissa P. Johnson, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
  • 2012 Kenneth M. Kozel, International Academy Amman, Amman, Jordan
  • 2011 No award
  • 2010 Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia -- Keith Kuda Munyuengeterwa, Zimbabwe (unable to attend)
  • 2009 No Award
  • 2008 University of Berkeley, California: Jerry Mathema (Zimbabwe) (unable to attend IASL 2008; attended IASL 2009)
  • 2007 Taipei, Taiwan: Mahmudin (Indonesia)
  • 2006 Lisbon, Portugal: Paulette Stewart (Jamaica, West Indies)
  • 2005 Hong Kong, China: Madhu Bhargava (New Delhi, India)
  • 2004 Dublin, Ireland: Dr. Jagtar Singh (India)
  • 2003 Durban, South Africa: Professor Evelyn Fabito (Philippines)
  • 2002 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia: Herminigilda Salazar (Philippines)
  • 2001 Auckland, New Zealand: Joe Pereap (Papua New Guinea)

View our privacy policy here.

© International Association of School Librarianship
Data Protection Policy 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software